Introduction, want advice for first project idea

Hey all! My name is Dana and I am a nontraditional student in California looking to start a second career in programming. I’m very interested in Rust and need to set up a personal website, so I thought using seed for the website would be a good first Rust project. I’m also interested in contributing to an open source project and Seed looks like it might be a good option. So far I’ve just been emailing back and forth a bit with Martin while I procrastinate on actually getting started. :slight_smile:

I know enough html/js/css to put together a site that’s just static files, but I’m pretty ignorant about all the frameworks, js transpiling tools, css templating tools, and most everything else that professionals use in making websites. I was thinking of making a “slowstart” guide to getting a seed site up on netlify that assumes the reader’s skill level is more like mine. I plan to set up a very bare-bones site on github, set it up so that netlify is serving it, port that site to Seed, add some sort of functionality to it to make using Seed not seem like overkill, and then write it up as a guide. The quickstart guide uses a few tools from the node.js ecosystem and it’s clear I’ll need to do the same, but I want to be absolutely sure I’m making the simplest and/or most standard choices and only using them when necessary.

Does anyone have advice, particularly if there are any choices I should be making differently from what the quickstart does? I’m happy to figure out things for myself, but I’d hate to put out a guide that is full of strange newbie hacks and bad advice in the 0.1 version.

1 Like